HIPAA, PCI DSS, CMMC, & More: Guide to Some of the Most Common Compliance Standards in the US

HIPAA, PCI DSS, CMMC, GLBA, and SOX are just a few of the compliance standards that businesses in the US must follow. Each one has its own specific requirements, but they all share the common goal of protecting sensitive information and ensuring its security.

Here’s a quick guide to what each of these acronyms stand for and what they mean for businesses:

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA):

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act is a federal law that requires healthcare organizations to maintain the privacy of patient health information. HIPAA also sets standards for the security of electronic health information.

Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS):

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard is a set of security standards for organizations that process credit card payments. PCI DSS includes requirements for security controls and procedures, such as encryption and incident response.

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC):

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is a framework developed by the U.S. Department of Defense to assess the cybersecurity capabilities of contractors. Organizations that do business with the Department of Defense must be certified at one of the five CMMC levels, which range from basic cyber hygiene to advanced cybersecurity practices.

Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA):

The Federal Information Security Management Act is a law that requires federal agencies to develop and implement information security programs. FISMA also establishes a risk management framework for federal information systems.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework:

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework is a set of industry standards and guidelines for cybersecurity risk management. The framework helps organizations assess and manage their cybersecurity risks.

Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX):

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act is a law that requires public companies to maintain accurate financial records and disclose any material weaknesses in their internal controls. SOX also established the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board to oversee the auditing of public companies.

Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (GLBA):

The Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act is a law that requires financial institutions to disclose their information security practices to customers. GLBA also requires financial institutions to take steps to protect the confidentiality of customer information.

State Data Breach Notification Laws:

Most states have laws that require businesses to notify individuals of data breaches that affect their personal information. These laws typically require businesses to provide notice to the attorney general and affected individuals within a certain timeframe.

State data breach notification laws add an additional layer of protection for consumers, requiring businesses to notify them of any data breaches that could affect their personal information.

By understanding and complying with all of these standards, businesses can help create a safer and more secure environment for everyone.